The Day I Die


7671759934_7229c3096d_o

This post was inspired by “Write Your Own Obituary” by Ethical Pathways


Elina McGill.

Guru. Risk-taker. Love spreader. Limit pusher. Complete badass.

Elina lived her life as a model to others. She lived her life with one creed:

If it makes you happy, hold on to it as long as you can. If it doesn’t, let it go. If you want it, go after it. The Universe will help you get it; it favors the bold. If you can dream it, you can have it. You are powerful beyond measure. There are no rules. Life isn’t a game. It’s creation.

Elina lived out this message to the fullest. Along with being a world-renowned life coach, motivational speaker, best-selling author, and cultured traveler, throughout her life she remained committed to social justice and equality for historically oppressed groups.

She was soft when the world expected her to be hard, love when it expected her to be fear, and light when it expected her to be darkness.


This is how I will be remembered.

Over time we find ourselves conditioned to the cold, hard “facts” about life. Everything around us—from the shows we watch, the books we read, the people we surround ourselves with—tell us that we are mediocre. That success is relegated to the elite few. That only some of us will have the lives we dream of, and it all comes down to a stroke of luck.

This I refuse to believe. I refuse to believe it because my life, my entire existence, depends on a strong refusal of these lies.

I choose to believe that I, and I alone,  am responsible for the outcome of my life. If  this is my one wild and precious life, I better do everything in my power to make it epic.

Am I exactly where I want to be in all areas of my life? No.

But daily, I am getting closer. With each step, I can feel the rays breaking through. Something’s gotta’ give.

I refuse to just coast through.

This is how I will be remembered.

What about you?


Photo credit © lizasperling

One thought on “The Day I Die

Leave a Reply

